Posted: February 20, 2019 7:03 pm
Lettie G. Howard is owned by the South Street Seaport Museum and is operated as a programmatic collaboration between the South Street Seaport Museum and the Flagship Niagara League.nLettie is a 125-foot, two-masted gaff topsail fishing schooner built in 1893 in Essex, Massachusetts. She arrived at South Street Seaport Museum in 1968, and was declared a National Historic Landmark in 1989. In 1994, after an extensive two-year rebuild that restored her to her original appearance, she was certified as a Sailing School Vessel by the U.S. Coast Guard.nLettie G. Howard has joined Niagara in Erie to enhance the visitor experience at the Erie Maritime Museum while ultimately expanding the Flagship Niagara LeagueÆs existing sail training program. During the 2018 sailing season, Lettie will be offering a variety of sailing opportunities for the Erie community.